Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / What kind of foundation on sand?
dawidio
# Posted: 2 Oct 2012 00:53 - Edited by: dawidio

I'm REALLY new to all this so please forgive my ignorance with terms used for building. I recently bought 20 acres of land just East of El Paso and want to build a tiny cabin out there to star gaze and so forth. I don't need plumbing or electricity for now. I have tons of camping stuff and don't mind going au naturale. However, through all of the research I've done, I haven't been really able to pinpoint exactly what kind of foundation or posts (see?) I'm supposed to use. It's very sandy, frost isn't necessarily an issue, and the water table would be way deeper than I could ever imagine trying to dig. I am thinking of building using wood pallets and was also thinking of digging down about 4 feet and putting railroad ties on top of gravel and then pouring concrete around them. That way, I could have a stable post(s) on which to start building my cabin. I kind of wanted to build it off the sand a bit (steering away from concrete slab) because there are tons of creepy crawlies and rattle snakes that might want to try and nestle in while I'm not there. Any suggestions and advice would help a lot. Even if it's just "you're crazy don't do it". Thanks a ton!
My jeep on the land
My jeep on the land

MtnDon
# Posted: 2 Oct 2012 10:40