Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Experience doing punched tin?
trollbridge
# Posted: 24 Oct 2012 21:49 - Edited by: trollbridge

We would like to make two cabinet doors for our area under the counter in the kitchen. Neither of us have done punched tin before and thought it would be fun to try. It seems easy enough but are there any helpful hints any of you have? What is the best thing to lay it down on while punching the holes? Any tips are appreciated!
Oct._2021_2012up_.jpg
Oct._2021_2012up_.jpg

Montanan
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 00:36

Wish I had some advice, but I have no experience. I love the look though, and it will look great in your place!

Kudzu
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 05:52

If you use the ceiling tile type tin, be sure to wipe it down real good after you finish. Sweat will oxidize and you end up with black splotches. Learned this the hard way.

rayyy
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 06:03

here is a panel I made for my jelly cabinet.and the punch tin lantern I made from a pattern I bought.The candle mold is my favorite though,but not my work.would like to try one someday.
punch_tin_002.JPG
punch_tin_002.JPG
punch_tin_006.JPG
punch_tin_006.JPG

TheCabinCalls
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 08:15

If you haven't made the doors yet the easiest thing (to hide imperfections) would be to make the tin actually slip in with the panel to get the look rayy has above. This is instead of trying to cut it exact to place on top. Just make sure the tin and panel you slip into the groove isn't too snug and can still move freely.

If you go this route all you need is some tin snips and possibly a file to prep the tin. The rest is just building the door.

If you don't have the tools to make the groove in the styles/rails of the door you can place the tin behind them like a picture frame and then put a thin piece of wood to support.

TheCabinCalls
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 08:20