Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Girders needed?
bwalak
# Posted: 28 Nov 2012 08:48

Hello I am new to this fourm, I am building a 20x24 1.5 story camp in northern/central maine. I plan on using a pier foundation with 3 rows of 4 piers set 8 feet apart (4 down each side, 4 down the middle) the span from the outside piers to the middle would be 10 feet. When building the floor do I need to first lay girders down along the piers then build the joists and floor on top? or can I just build the joists/floor right ontop of the piers and double up the headers along the outsid and middle piers? I plan on using pressure treated 2x8's or 2x10's for the joists. Thanks

Bill Walak

toyota_mdt_tech
# Posted: 28 Nov 2012 09:12 - Edited by: toyota_mdt_tech

Sounds like you need girders, then lay your joist across it. Not sure how big the girders need to be, but floor joist at a 10 foot span, the 2X8 should work fine. You can splice the joist across a girder by overlapping them by several feet. Just use blocking between the joist over the center girder. Mt Don will have the girder size for you I suspect.

MtnDon
# Posted: 28 Nov 2012 10:24 - Edited by: MtnDon

You do need girders. In order to safely size the main girders we need to know your areas snow load. Parts of Maine get into the 90 PSF and some even higher. Use the document as the end of this LINK to find your town and report back with the ground snow load figure. If the data indicates "case study" then you need to ask somebody in the local building department. Case study areas are common and occur mostly in mountainous areas where the climate is very variable, hence each case can be different.

This will also be needed to properly size rafters and headers above windows and doors.

Also will the upper floor have any central supports or will the upper floor be a clear span from one side to the other?