Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Cabin Construction Underway
marcwebdude
# Posted: 3 Oct 2013 16:33

I have been working on a 20 x 20 cabin for a few months, getting a little more material every month around a budget, things seem to be going well and the guides I've found on this site have been very helpful. I'm not very experienced with building an entire building and am still having a bunch of fun. I have run into a small (unless I'm underestimating) issue with my foundation/floor frame.

I have been going along with steps in the proper manner, I have set out the concrete pillars and have 2 x 8's as the frame of the foundation. I have done a lot of adjusting to get the entire frame to be level. It has been sitting level for about a month and has warped a little due to the weather. I haven't really seen an issue until last night while I was installing the plywood onto the frame. it turns out that my angles aren't perfect 90 degree. I was able to adjust a little to get the plywood on 2 of the corners but I am worried about the concrete pillars moving or not lining up correctly the further along I go installing the plywood.

I would really hate to have to move everything and re-leveling, and it's not going to be cement underneath and I already have the vapor barrier in place to protect the underside of the plywood. I am doing everything I can to move the frame as necessary and understand that the foundation is the most important part. However, If my angles are slightly off, will that effect the structural integrity of the rest of the project?