Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Building a 10x12 cabin in the New England woods (Massachusetts)
charr
# Posted: 12 Oct 2013 22:39 - Edited by: charr

Hi all,

I'm in the beginning stages of planning a small cabin in the woods behind my family's house. I've cleared out a little area in between some pine trees and I plan on starting construction as soon as next weekend. The cabin will be used for sleeping, meditation, reading, writing, drinking tea, and enjoying nature.

I have zero experience with this sort of thing, but I'm fortunate enough to have an 85 year old grandfather who could probably build the entire thing by himself in a couple weekends if I let him. As soon as I called him over to come take a look at the build site, he was already drawing up plans and putting together a list of materials! Needless to say, I won't be doing this on my own.

Still, I'd like to do as much research as I can and I'm posting here to see if anyone has any general advice.

Here are some of my considerations:

Dimensions -- 10x12 (max size without a permit)

Foundation -- cinder blocks, raised off the ground slightly. I want to keep it simple.

Floor -- 3/4 plywood, maybe finished, or put some laminate down.

Walls -- plywood, uninsulated. Why? Because it's a 10x12 and I plan on installing a small wood stove. I'm open to suggestion here though.

Heating -- I plan on sleeping here overnight during the winter. I'm thinking a small wood stove. Possibly something like a Jotul 602. Expensive but worth it?

Doors and windows -- I'm not sure, whatever I can find cheap. I think some family members might have extra windows lying around.

Roof -- 4 or 5 grade shingled A-frame. Not sure if this is the right terminology, maybe what I mean is just a regular gabled roof. Also I considered extending the roof to create a small overhang for a front porch.