Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Newbie here but lurking for years
Usa89gt
# Posted: 10 Nov 2013 08:23

Hi Folks

I have been reading for many years and everyone here is such an inspiration. I am heading out to start my pier foundation today. 12x24 cabin and foundation will be 10x24 with 12" cantilever on each side to bring it to 12 feet. I had 10 4x4 square beams welded with 18" square base and a 16"x8" plate ate the top to accept beams. I applied 2 coats of Por15 paint to ensure they are rust proof. We will dig them at least 4 feet deep as we have frost and backfill with crushed stone and earth. At this time I am looking for 12x24 cabin plans with loft at either end along with a 4 foot porch in front. Can any PLEASE help me with any plans? I will gladly pay for them or make a donation to a charity if your choice. Thanks and wish me luck as I am heading out.

MJW
# Posted: 10 Nov 2013 08:45

Good luck!

Can't help you with plans as I drew mine out on a notebook.

Looking forward to seeing lots of photos of your progress.

Usa89gt
# Posted: 10 Nov 2013 08:50

Thx... I am not the best with computers so I need to learn how to upload photos. [img=null]null[/img]

VTweekender
# Posted: 10 Nov 2013 12:00

Welcome aboard! All the best on your build, these 12x24 plans may help... http://library.uniteddiversity.coop/Ecological_Building/12x24-Homesteader%27s-Cabin-v 1.pdf ..

rockies
# Posted: 10 Nov 2013 16:29

Hi, you can look at my thread "Cozy $4000 Cabin Additions" and adapt it to your needs if you want. A 4 foot wide porch is not really going to be very useful. I was reading an article in "Fine Homebuilding" magazine on porch design and they recommended 8' as a minimum in order to have room for chairs and to get around them.

Usa89gt
# Posted: 10 Nov 2013 16:57