Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Roof Pitch
GSLaker
# Posted: 7 Feb 2014 23:56

Hi folks,

I am building a 16 x 24 cabin with 8 foot walls and will be building a loft that measures 16 x 10. I need some help with roof pitch, center beam size and length of rafters. I was thinking about a 12/12 pitch, 2x12 center beam and 2x10 rafters with a 1 foot over hang.

Thanks.

beachman
# Posted: 8 Feb 2014 10:01

Being an amature builder, I would say you are right on with your plans. Having a loft of 10ft. would leave 14ft. of open span and you may need at least one roof brace for the rafters.

bldginsp
# Posted: 8 Feb 2014 10:04

Need a little more info, then there are others on this forum that will find the correct rafter size for you out of the span charts.

Is there any snow load? Your local building department will tell you what snow load you are required to use to calculate, or perhaps you can find it online.

Is the ridge 2x12 a true beam or is it a ridge board? Two very different engineering approaches. If it is a beam it takes half the roof weight and must be calc'd. If it is a board it doesn't matter. If it is a beam you don't need the ceiling joists to be rafter ties, if it is a board you do.

12/12 pitch is more than enough to shed snow. You can calc rafter length with an accurate drawing, which is why I like CAD.

MtnDon
# Posted: 8 Feb 2014 10:45