Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / New to the forum : couple of questions - Thanks!
. 1 . 2 . >>
Mart
# Posted: 27 Jan 2015 14:16 - Edited by: Mart

Hi everyone,

I am very glad that I found this website/forum. First of all, sorry if my english is not OK I am from Sherbrooke, Québec, Canada. I am 22 years old and I am planning to build a cabin on my friend land. It is located in Ham-Sud, Quebec. We have 44 hectares full of maple trees. I am a woodworker with 2 years of experience and I want to be a self-employed.

My first question is about Foundation... I would like to know a cheap and effective way to build a foundation for a cabin between 10'X20' ... 14'X20' , something like that. I am planning to built this cabin for a short time of life, 3 to 5 years.

I am learning different type of foundation but I would like to know a cheap one and easy making, no need to be good for more than 5 years...

Thank you very much guys!

Martin

LoonWhisperer
# Posted: 27 Jan 2015 16:07 - Edited by: LoonWhisperer

Welcome to the forum Martin. Now I will step aside and let the knowledgeable folks chime in Best of luck!

Just
# Posted: 27 Jan 2015 16:13 - Edited by: Just

what are the soil conditions sand , clay, gravel , shield solid rock..
wet or dry ? do you have access to a good road to bring in gravel??flat or sloping ??

Mart
# Posted: 27 Jan 2015 17:10

Thank you LoonWhisperer !

Just ; The soil is kind of wet, a bit. It's more like silt than sand and yes I do have an access to a road to bring in gravel but I would like to use less material as much as I can... And it is a bit slopy.

creeky
# Posted: 27 Jan 2015 19:35

mart. head over to apb pole barns. he has full instructions on how to build a pole barn.

if you have soft soil. a pole barn is just the thing. a few 12' posts. a few 2x8s for the frame, 2x6 for the floor and minimal 2x4s and some tin. you're all set.