Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / grey water question
rwoods
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 18:56

hi everyone, I am new to the form and thinking about this spring's build. I want to start with a combo shed /wash house and was wondering what you do with the grey water.let it run on the ground,french drain,dig a pit or drain field. I am not ready for a septic system yet.

rwoods

creeky
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 19:28

i run mine through a straw bale into a pile of bushes. It's a ways from anything but hay field.

MtnDon
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 19:31

What does you county have to say about the matter?

rwoods
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 19:34

I think that I would like to be under the county radar on this

rwoods
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 19:38

What are people doing with their outside showers

Littlecooner
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 19:45

Where is your water supply? How much water will be gray, as will this just be a shower facility and possible hand washing with caught rain water, do you have a spring, have a well. etc.

bobrok
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 19:46

At my camp we are required by regulation to surface discharge grey water. I ran pvc pipe away from the building in a shallow trench and recovered with sod. This keeps people from tripping over the pipe and helps when mowing as well.
Just at the end of my pipe run (about 25') I brought the pvc back up to the surface to comply. I dug a 12" deep hole at the point of discharge, filled it with small rocks then covered this with a couple of rather large, heavy flat stones to keep animals away.
Works well for me.

rwoods
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 19:52

I plan on driving a sand point and using a picture pump, the use would be just for washing and maybe a shower on the weekends. The well will have to be located a save distance from the wash house. I plan on using a composting or chem. toilet

rwoods
# Posted: 15 Mar 2015 20:33