Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Wall height(s) on 10x12 single-slope roof cabin?
Steeny
# Posted: 22 Aug 2015 00:52 - Edited by: Steeny

Greetings, all! Just joined today. Wish I'd seen this place weeks ago.

I'm in the process of building a 10x12 writing cabin on my property, behind my house. It needs to be sturdy and warm to get me through cold, snowy, Canadian (central British Columbia) winters - not to mention it must let in sufficient light to make it not be too depressing.

I've never built anything before. Seriously, just learned how to use a miter saw a few weeks ago. My husband has done some construction, but not for many years. He's been helping a lot, but he doesn't know all there is to know. So I've been seeking answers via books, friends, online searching, and asking anyone who seems to have a learned opinion in building supply stores.

What we've got so far is the cabin's floor frame - 3x7 fir joists (yes, 3x7 - a friend milled them) spaced 24" OC, with R22 Roxul insulation held in by 3/8" plywood dropped onto 1x2 rails we screwed into the bottom sides of each joist. (The building is too close to the ground to crawl under and put plywood upward - it's on cement pier blocks.) And 3/4" T&G is now screwed down over poly.

So... my question at last...

Tomorrow, we plan on starting the wall framing. We need to buy our 2x6's at the nearby building supply store. The front wall has to be higher than the back wall, for snow to slide off the roof. Is 10' high 2x6s long enough for the front, and then put up 8' ones on the back wall, with the side wall studs being graduated heights? Or do we make the whole thing 8' high, and do something in the roof construction (a pony wall?) to give it the needed slope?