Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Piers, trusses and walls
KelVarnsen
# Posted: 5 Dec 2015 12:18 - Edited by: KelVarnsen

Hello all. I'm new to the Small Cabin Forum. I'm a first time cabin owner having purchased a cabin near the Muskoka region of Ontario close to Georgian Bay in August. Now I've got a lot of work to do. I thought I'd kick off my forum participation with a long winded post. I have two questions for the structural gurus of the forum.

Question 1 (Piers)

The first thing that I have to do is get the old cinder block piers replaced. I've got quotes from 3 different contractors all using different techniques. I'm sure all would work fine and all are in the same ball park from a cost perspective. I'm having trouble deciding which way to go.

Proposal 1:
Piers and brackets in galvanized steel piles @ 3 1/2" diameter with either standard installation or drilled and pinned into the bedrock with required bracing welded on the highest side (4) only. The piles would be done by cutting an approximate 12" diameter hole through the floor next to the location of the current piers and this wouldn't include new flooring to repair only replace with the current materials taken off so it's in safe walking condition. A standard install is where the piles drive down into soil until bearing strength is achieved and if bedrock is found before that a pile that has been fabricated to set into the bedrock is used either way incredibly strong vs concrete. I've attached a picture of another job the contractor has done using galvanized piers.

Proposal 2:
- lift cottage
- remove 12 piers
- add 2 layers to 3 beams
- install 12 footings pinned to bedrock
- Install 12 piers consisting of 12" pier block (core filled) 24" above grade with galvanized saddles
- Install 6"x6" pressure treated posts from pier to beam with knee bracing

Proposal 3: