Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Quality problems with Big Box stores continues: this time it is Lowes sonatubes
fthurber
# Posted: 20 Nov 2010 21:19 - Edited by: fthurber

As I have noted before I have had some quality problems with Lowes and Home Depot; maybe it is just me and maybe it is just my local stores; I don't know. Others have done well at these places but personally I have had some bad experiences.

The latest problem is with Lowe's sonatubes. My son and I bought the tubes from Lowes and used them a few weeks ago to start a new cabin. We poured the concrete and set the bolt in one but the next day it had burst and flopped over. The next day we used really dry thick concrete but the same thing happened.
These lousy tubes were made out of thin non-water proof materials (compare them to the local good tube in the attached picture). Not only did I waste a weekend but I had get the damn tubes out of the ground; I am thinking if dumping them in the Lowes' lot.

In disgust I went to the local builder's supply place (owned by locals and run by locals). (I should have gone to them in the first place) Their tubes worked beautifully even for wet concrete.

I have attached pictured of the crap tube from Lowes and the thicker waterproof tubes from the local building supply store.

I have also attached pictures of a flopped over tube from Lowes. Never again will I spend a dime with those guys. This is the final straw.

In my experience the one and only advantage of the big box stores is that they are open off hours. In my experience the quality stinks and so does the price when you consider that you have buy the crap twice. And the help is horrible at the Big Box stores compared to the local stores; minimum / low wage guys who have to endure Dilbert-like management and know / care little about building.
IMG_6687.JPG
IMG_6687.JPG
IMG_6690.JPG
IMG_6690.JPG
IMG_6689.JPG