Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Pre-build cabin walls?
Srollins
# Posted: 26 Nov 2016 08:00

Hello all, here's one for ya so I live in Md and own 25 acres in West Virginia it's about a 5 hour drive that due to my work schedule can't make often enough. I have an opportunity to get as many free 2x4's as I want , I build schools for a living and used them as temp windows until the actual windows come in, most are at least 8' in length . I obviously have more time here at home so was thinking of grabbing this material and pre-build my cabin walls then transport to WV, thing is I'm worried about the material twisting and bowing , I have a garage to store the walls after nailing them together but it's not temp controlled. I was thinking attaching the sheathing would help keep them straight? Just not sure the effort is worth it, the last thing I want is to spend a whole lot of time building walls and then in a few months find them unusable . Would building the walls and glueing and nailing the crap out of them work? Any ideas out there? What would you all do? Free material is what is driving this I could build all my walls. Ps the cabin has not been started yet spring of next year I will start so the walls would sit for a few months

sparky30_06
# Posted: 26 Nov 2016 08:50

you can prefab your walls and attach the exterior sheeting to them, only problem is how do you lift and set in place large wall sections once you get out there. You could build them in 4' sections but then you won't have a continues wrap at that point. if it's good kiln dryer lumber you shouldn't get to bad of twisting.

Srollins
# Posted: 26 Nov 2016 08:55