Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Advice sought about safety of my treehouse...
WillyBilly
# Posted: 21 Nov 2019 06:40

Hi All, sorry for not using all the correct carpentry nomenclature -- I'm an amateur, and that's putting it mildly...

I have a tall palm tree in the backyard, about a foot and a half in diameter, nice and strong. I nailed two 2x6 boards (about half a yard long) to the trunk (one on each side, i.e. parallel to each other, with five six inch nails) at about a yard and a half high, screwed two-yard long beams on top of them (and into the tree as well), set up about seven 2X2 poles in the ground, and placed a yard-and-a-half long X a yard wide sandwich board on top of all that. I took my WWF looking, 250 lb neighbor and put him on it, and then climbed on myself. It felt super-sturdy, so I built another floor in exactly the same way, using tree and first floor for support. Again it held with me and the neighbor on it. I put up walls around the first floor and a fence around the top floor (which is a good three or more yards off the ground).

My question: does this sound safe to you guys? It FEELS super-sturdy, but do you think I can send four or five kids up there and not worry about collapse? If you prefer not to weigh in on that -- which I fully understand -- then can you give me some tips on how to know if a structure (a floor) has enough support?

Thanks!

Bill

Brettny
# Posted: 21 Nov 2019 06:43

This is not a tree fort forum. Im sure there is one for that.

Aklogcabin
# Posted: 21 Nov 2019 09:55

Hello WB . Welcome. We all have our own version of what our cabin is. Feel free to ask any questions you like. There are no forum cops here.
Sounds like you had a lot of weight up there. If you do allow kids I would suggest you keep an eye on it. Kids will be jumping around playing which could loosen the structure up from the tree.