Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Winterizing and disconnecting batteries?
englishbully
# Posted: 8 Dec 2020 21:51 - Edited by: englishbully

Hi, new to the forum and recently purchased an off grid cabin ..I am new to off grid so please bare with me as i have little knowledge of solar power.First off,my cabin is running solar panel with a charge controller connected to 2 flooded crown cr370 6volt batteries set up in series.Anyhow with little knowledge about battery types ,I began reading and attempting to learn about flooded batteries .The previous owner has the 2 batteries on a rolling tray stored in the cabin.From what i gather this dangerous due to gassing and unsure why the previous owner has this set up as he lived in the cabin like this for over a year...So my plan is to unhook the batteries and build a box and have it vented to the outside correctly..So my question is :Is it safe to disconnect the batteries and charge controller from solar panel for the winter season ?will leaving the solar panels up still draw power even though unconnected or should they be covered up?Any help is much appreciated .

Bruces
# Posted: 9 Dec 2020 06:36

It is safe ,make sure you disconnect the panels first from the charge controller ,batteries next or you can fry the controller .

FishHog
# Posted: 9 Dec 2020 07:56

as above and hook back up in reverse order to unhooking. LA batteries that are in good shape and fully charged can handle freezing temps for a few months, but if they are degraded some or not fully charged, I'd leave them hooked up to the panels and charging or bring them home and put them on a charger once a month.

Mine at my cabin have been hooked up to my panels for 5 years. No need to disconnect in winter.