Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / What to do, got offer on my solar
<< . 1 . 2 .
paulz
# Posted: 13 Jun 2021 22:31

Quoting: gcrank1
It is a part time, recreational cabin for us

I wouldn't go grid. We live at our cabin 50-75% of the time and off grid does most everything we need. The only thing we do at the city house is laundry, and I'm considering adding a washer and dryer at the cabin, which I'd power with a genny and propane.

For part time, rec use, why go grid?

ICC
# Posted: 13 Jun 2021 23:06

Quoting: jhp
a real electrician hooked it up to the panel inside.

Depending on where you live.

Many counties, cities, etc allow homeowner electrical and plumbing if they pass a test the department supplies. Here, the pass is 75% or better. The final inspection also needs to pass of course. Those are not that difficult, but do require some study. I am not a certified electrician or plumber but did all my own electrical and plumbing and passed the inspections first time. I would have to brush up on details if I was to try again.

The poco should be able to give a rough estimate, not a contractual quote, as jhp indicated. Pretty much everything here is underground now too. That does help us here a lot with reducing wildfire danger from trees falling on lines so I do think that generally, it is a good idea. It does increase costs though, but wildfires are hellish things to have to deal with too. We have forest areas around here that are never going to recover to what they were.

Brettny
# Posted: 14 Jun 2021 06:15

I did my own service upgrade in NY and passed. I put the new one right next ti the old one so all the power company had to do was move the wires. 45min and they where gone.

gcrank1
# Posted: 14 Jun 2021 09:14

Guys, my place has nothing, no service box, no wiring inside or out. A real-deal, off-grid, dry cabin.