Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Wood Stove Selection
ThisOldCabinNJ
# Posted: 27 Nov 2022 08:00

Wood stove newbie here. 👋

I’m having a wood stove installed within the month and have a few choices I’m having a hard time deciding on. Catalytic, non-catalytic, and then the “Cadillac” of all stoves: soapstone.

I think soapstone is out of my budget for the time being. As a newbie I should probably start with a moderate stove and maybe upgrade in a few years if this becomes my primary source of heat. I really don’t know how much I am going to be burning but do have intentions to burn regularly.

That said, it looks like a catalytic stove is good for long burns and regular consistent use while a non-catalytic is good for all around use, quick heat up but requires more fueling?

If anyone has some additional input I’m all ears.

I’m leaning towards a non-catalytic to start as I haven’t even moved in to the cabin and for the next season or so, burns may not be consistently regular. They’re also a little cheaper and reason for a good starter stove.

Thanks for any input!

Brettny
# Posted: 27 Nov 2022 08:34

The only options I would want in a wood stove is a thermostatic damper and an ash tray. A cat burn a bit more efficient.

Nobadays
# Posted: 27 Nov 2022 09:55

It kind of depends on how/when you intend to use your cabin and the climate where it sits. If you intend extended stays in the winter.... if you are in a cold area, then you will need to ask yourself if you want a heat producing fire all night or do you want to get up in the middle of the night and put more wood in the stove, or get up to a cold cabin.