Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Needing to speak with a knowledgeable member.
NorseVikinAesir
# Posted: 22 Aug 2023 13:02 - Edited by: NorseVikinAesir

I'm new to homesteading and have a few questions on projects I need to get completed. Mainly a woodstove install before the cold weather hits. I'm knowledgeable about a lot of things, just not woodstove and the safety surrounding them and their installs. Hopefully I can trade some knowledge with some like minded people. Thanks!

travellerw
# Posted: 22 Aug 2023 13:16

The manual should detail many of the install requirements as each stove is different. However, each local has different requirements you need to follow as well (whichever is stricter, the manual or the local code).

Around here, people usually get a WETT inspection once they have completed install.

NorseVikinAesir
# Posted: 22 Aug 2023 16:19

There is no manual and definitely no code in my area. I'm a Contractor and own my own business. So yeah, no code, code enforcement, etc. This stove I took over from a family friend so I know how they had it plumbed, but it definitely wasn't correct nor safe.Thanks for the reply

Brettny
# Posted: 22 Aug 2023 16:56

The manufacturer should have a spec on clearances to combustibles for the stove pipe, above and below the stove along with each side and how big the hearth under it needs to me.

Have you tried looking up a manual online?

gcrank1
# Posted: 22 Aug 2023 19:10

At the least, you will need a Class A chimney and seriously maintain the combustable clearances all around stove and 'pipe'.
Out the roof there are considerations of how high the outlet from the ridgetop, etc., bracings and ice/snow protection.
All that general stuff can be found on the various 'woodstove forums', as well as lots of stove specific info.

Fanman
# Posted: 23 Aug 2023 06:48