Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / battery gravity question
Anonymous
# Posted: 1 Dec 2011 20:11

I have 340 watts of solar panels, ran through 2 charge controllers, connected to 1 trojan 1275 golf cart battery and 2 deep cycle batteries. I have been using this system for about 7 months every day without any problems at all. I bought a hydrometer to check the gravity of the batteries after reading about it here, so I get the most life from the batteries. The reading on the hydrometer shows that the cells need attention and are not fully charged. The voltage is good every day (even after a few days without sunshine ) The controllers are a sunsaver 10 amp and a phocos 14 amp. I have another 45 watt solar panel I am planning on adding to the array also.How do I bring the gravity up to a good level? The voltage has never dropped below 11.9 even if we fall asleep with the TV and fans on and by the next afternoon, it always is back up to 12.5 or more. I don't want to ruin anything. Everything is new. Any advice would be appreciated.

MtnDon
# Posted: 1 Dec 2011 20:49

You need a charger that has an equalization charge mode. Common battery chargers and charge controllers do NOT have this function. The better brands of inverter/chargers like Outback, Magnum and the upper end Xantrex have this feature is most/many models. Xantrex also has a couple of quality chargers that have the equalization option. Sorry I don't have part numbers for them off hand. Many of the better chargers will have the basic three, bulk, absorb and float, but still lack equalization capability.