Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Solar Guru Technical Question
Bzzzzzt
# Posted: 10 Jun 2012 22:39

For some of you people that have figured out all the DC to AC connections and such for solar power I have a couple questions to ask.

As you guys know, I'm an electrician, but I don't deal with batteries and inverters at all so I've guessed at this math and I'm wondering if I'm right.

Since 120V ÷ 12V = 10 then I'm assuming that any amperage ratings for 120V appliances would need to be multiplied by 10 to get the 12V amp-hour draw off the battery. Then I've seen somewhere that there is a little bit of power loss because you're stepping up the voltage so I am guessing that to be 20% give or take. In any event I came up with this formula:

1A (@ 120V) x 10 x 1.25 (1/80%) = 12.5A (at 12V) so for every 1 amp at 120V you will have 12.5 amp-hour of draw off of your battery bank. A 100 AH battery would theoretically last 100 AH ÷ 12.5A or 8 hours. Then 4 amps at 120V would last 2 hrs through the inverter assuming the 100 amp-hours. Does this math look right?

The second question I have is how do you ever figure how long X wattage of solar panel will fully charge an Y amp-hour battery? Is there a formula to say that if you have 100 watts of solar panel working at 50% efficiency they will charge a 100AH battery in 12 hours, or something to that effect? I have never needed this sort of information in my day to day electrical work before.