Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / What size wire to setup an 24v LED lighting circuit?
cityconvert
# Posted: 4 Sep 2012 02:26

Hello all,

I am new to this site and I hear great things about it. Anyway, I am setting up an off grid cabin and I have a few solar questions. I would like to begin wiring the outlets, switches and lighting fixtures. What size wire is safe to use with a 24v PV system? I'm fairly new to solar as you may have guessed.

I was thinking of moving up a notch from #14 to 12/2 Romex. Opinions? Any advice is welcome. Thanks.

sparky1
# Posted: 4 Sep 2012 07:42

here's "some " information/ installing wiring NOW using 24 V.DC and possible later going to AC. do it once and correctly.
sparky1.in s.Va.

http://www.colemanair.us:80/vp_asp/scripts/shopexd.asp?bc=no&ccode=WireCalculator

MtnDon
# Posted: 4 Sep 2012 10:38

One thing to remember is that a 24 volt device drawing a similar wattage to a 120 volt device draws 5x the current. That means larger wires are needed. However, if the load is LED lighting on 24 volts the amperage is going to be very small. Incandescent lights are another matter though.

Also it should be noted that the usual household wall switch is meant to operate on AC power circuits. DC power can rapidly wear out, burn the contacts inside an AC switch. Possibly if the switches are used for only the very small loads that are normal with LED lighting, this may not be a problem. Or if you can locate AC switches that "snap" when operated, use them. They are made different from the usual silent switches and do stand up better under DC loads. ... This is because AC current flow is easier to break as it is turning on-off 60 times a second as the current alternates. DC switches have to break a steady one way flow of current. This is much harder on the mechanical contacts.

TomChum
# Posted: 4 Sep 2012 11:27