Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Cabin - transfer switch for generator & inverter/batteries
sbishop
# Posted: 4 Sep 2013 22:45

hi everyone, newbie here...been looking for a few days but haven't found the right setup.

what i am looking for is a manual transfer switch between a generator and my inverter/batteries at my camp. Nothing fancy just something that will work. i'm only planning on running a few lights, tv, satellite dish and recharge laptop. Plan on using generator when batteries are low...to charge and provide power.

i'm sure 15amp would be enough but if a 30amp setup was only a few bucks more i'd probably go for that.

one thing i was looking at is this furnance transfer switch
URL

If i was to go this route using only a 15amp setup...would this switch work, does it have a build in fuse?

thanks in advance for any help!
Sbishop

Steve961
# Posted: 4 Sep 2013 22:59

An automatic transfer switch would be cheaper than what you're looking at. You can even place a regular AC light switch between it and the generator so it can be either an automatic or a manual. Here's a link:

PowerMax 30 Amp Automatic Transfer Switch

MtnDon
# Posted: 5 Sep 2013 01:16 - Edited by: MtnDon

Do the Powermax ATS. I don't think there is anything less expensive or simpler. And they are reliable. 20 to 30 delay from when it senses generator power to when it switches. Gives the generator time to spin up and settle down.

sbishop
# Posted: 5 Sep 2013 05:09

I did take a peek at the powermax, that was kinda my first choice. I'm assuming I would need a breaker panel too? What would be an inexpensive panel? Thanks for the help!

creeky
# Posted: 23 Oct 2013 08:25

I have the Powermax 75 amp charger. and after a blown surge protector (my fault) ... it's worked flawlessly. so the transfer switch looks like it might make a good add for me. if i ever get tired of doing the manual switch.