Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / sand well point
small cabin dreamer
# Posted: 3 Oct 2013 15:35

Newbie here.
I have a question about putting in a sand well point. If the first piece is a point on 3 feet of pipe how would a person get a foot valve installed at the bottom of a shallow well? Or you couldnt use a foot valve on a well point type of system? Is there a pvc liner that is supposed to go inside of the steel or stainless pipe you drive into the ground?

Just
# Posted: 3 Oct 2013 16:18

I use a check valve at the top of the well. nothing at the bottom just the sand point then enough 1 1/4 in. galvanized pipe to get to the elbow that goes to the pump , or to a hand pump on top of the well .most hand pumps have a check valve in them no need to bye one . There is no liner in the pipe .

small cabin dreamer
# Posted: 3 Oct 2013 18:06

Thankyou for clarifying for me.

PatrickH
# Posted: 3 Oct 2013 18:35

You can also drive the point using 2" pipe and run a pipe inside that pipe also if you prefer.

small cabin dreamer
# Posted: 4 Oct 2013 07:49

PatrickH,

This is exactly what I am asking, If I use the 2 inch pipe do I need a liner inside with this "foot valve"? which the foot valve looks just like the drive point just not pointy on the end but flat.

Just
# Posted: 4 Oct 2013 09:33

Quoting: PatrickH
You can also drive the point using 2" pipe and run a pipe inside that pipe also if you prefer.

I have never seen that done . What is the advantage

PatrickH
# Posted: 4 Oct 2013 11:40