Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / What do you do for....
SandyR
# Posted: 5 Oct 2013 19:40

Forgive me if this has been talked about already since I am a newbie here. What do you all do for water?

We are thinking about rain barrels to collect the water instead of a well on either end of the cabin. Our property sits uptop a hill overlooking the Genesee valley and we are sure that it will cost way too much to have a well dug. We would do all the washing with that collected rain water, and bring drinking water with us every time.

mjmmessina
# Posted: 5 Oct 2013 20:26 - Edited by: mjmmessina

I set up a rain water cistern system for my remote mountainside cabin. It has worked great so far. I used a first flush sytem with screened gutter guard to filter the water. I then plumbed in a shurflo on demand pump to supply my kitchen sink and plan to plumb it to a tankless water heater for the shower in the future. Here is a pic of my set up and a link to explain the basic setup.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_994524&feature=iv&src_vid=lV_jw lvrgsE&v=VBTOyUkR2wg
photo_2.jpg
photo_2.jpg

Just
# Posted: 5 Oct 2013 21:46 - Edited by: Just

WE are low tec .WE ADD 2 table spoons of bleech once a week . use it for every thing but drinking for that we boil it then use it. Taste great very clear .no one has got sick in 7 years of use.drain it in winter .
100_1592.jpg
100_1592.jpg
CCE02142011_00000.jp.jpg
CCE02142011_00000.jp.jpg

redbeard
# Posted: 5 Oct 2013 22:44

check this guy out!

http://www.drillyourownwell.com/index.htm

I "know " some people that did this and it worked, depends on the soil I guess.

Rossman
# Posted: 5 Oct 2013 23:54

Just, in your diagram does that say 50lbs swimming pool sand?

Are you basically sand filtering the water?

Just
# Posted: 6 Oct 2013 07:14