Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / difficulty equalizing with panel, too sunny?
. 1 . 2 . >>
herringcove
# Posted: 18 May 2014 10:29

Hi,

This is my first time equalizing and I've discovered something strange by watching the charge controller (Outback FM60). I have 3x eclipsal 250 watt panels and 4 rolls surrette s600 in a 12V circuit. I'm trying to equalize two batteries at a time. So 450AH at 12V.

When I initiate equalization mode in the morning, the sun is still in the east and behind thin cloud. The charge controller reads 110watts. The wattage peaked at 360watts. 2 hours later, the sun is closer to perpendicular and shinning bright, the charge controller reads 60watts. The panels are at 45° angle. Later in the day the sun was in the west, we turned the panels to face it and could only get 30watts. In theory we need 360watts to get the 22.5amp charging current that we need to equalize. We only get this at the start of the day, it seems weird the panels lose power under direct sun. Anyone know what we are doing wrong? The charge controller is set to MPPT mode to auto track...

creeky
# Posted: 19 May 2014 11:54

As your batteries charge they get to "equalize" voltage. That's probably around 15v this time of year.

Once they are in "equalize" the amount of power required to keep the batteries at 15v drops.

With my system I'll see 800 watts going into the batteries at 9 a.m. but by noon the equalization is done and the power required has dropped to 200 watts or less.

Btw: When you get to where your batteries are charged or near fully charged, this is a great time to use stuff like microwaves and dishwashers and ... cause the power is free.