Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Jetpack Blues
Gary O
# Posted: 10 Jun 2015 19:56

So we got this jetpack
It gives us an avenue to WIFI since we are off grid

It's a bit expensive (we used 19.5 gigs last service period)
I've been chatting with customer service
They are all shocked when I tell them how much we've used

But

No real help in what I can do to curb expenses

Any Jetpackers out there?
Any suggestions as to how to keep usage in line (like 4-5 gigs)?

Salty Craig
# Posted: 10 Jun 2015 21:58

I have no experience with jet pack but have a Verizon tablet. Video is the data burner. You can forum around the clock and use hardly any data. Ya fire up the ol' YouTube and look out!!!

Craig

Gary O
# Posted: 10 Jun 2015 22:51

Quoting: Salty Craig
Video is the data burner.

yes, I was warned of that by customer service

we do not stream anything, just forum stuff and Email

still, eating gigs to the max

Salty Craig
# Posted: 11 Jun 2015 10:44

Without watching video, I don't believe that you could use 3 gigs a month. I fear a case of screwy math. My iPhone breaks down my data usage per app. All regular internet use is calculated thru Siri. Hardly a quarter of a gig per month and that's heavy use. Forum, emails, tons of googling, etc.

I hope your not stuck with a long term contract and recommend maybe using a smartphone or tablet for a wifi hotspot.

Nerdy Craig

Gary O
# Posted: 11 Jun 2015 11:16

well, I'm hooked up for two years, but not to the jetpack.
Yeah, the sales guys said no way would we use 4 gigs.
(He's now on my hit list)

Now, let's talk iphone for hot spot.....
how do I do that?

Salty Craig
# Posted: 11 Jun 2015 18:16

iPhone 5 and newer all make a hotspot with no additional cost to your account. It does however use from your data package. Ya go into settings, and whack a few buttons to fire up yer hotspot.