Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / No BS Assessment Required (photos)
Haltzy
# Posted: 28 Sep 2015 19:23 - Edited by: Haltzy

My fellow off griders; I'm in need of a no BS assessment of my off-grid system. Keep in mind this is my first attempt and have made mistakes throughout the process but this where I have ended up and would like you input.

Image #1 Panels.

All PV are 12v 100 watt, I attempted to run in series at 24v but found the amperage was too low so I am now only running 5 of them parallel, as my CC will only take max 500 Watts. I thought running them at 24V would allow the extra PV but didn't work. All connection made with MC4 connectors and 10awg solar rated wire.

Image #2 Custom Combiner Box and Fuses

All wires coming from the PV to combiner box are 10awg. Wires going from the box to the CC are 8awg. Fuses are 30amp, I have been suspect of using fuses but is what I had. I I also put in a PV shut off switch as well.

Image #3 - System Box

Picture shows CC, DC distribution panel and 1000W PSW Inverter. DC distribution feeds water pump, Outhouse lights, and a line going to my camper battery. I also have a 12vdc charging station in place. The DC distribution is fed from the Load out on the CC with automatic shut down. CC is rated at 500W12v/1000W24v MPPT 40Amp. (EBAY special)

Image #4 - Battery Bank

Batteries located below sealed plate holding CC,Inverter and DC Distribution. The enclosure is well ventilated. 6x245Ah 6v batteries ran in series/parallel (3 12v banks) I have the negative tie in point in the top left and positive tie in point bottom right. All wires are 0 awg welding cable with soldered lugs. Both the CC in and Inverter out are on the same lug.

I appreciate the feedback.
Panels
Panels
Combiner Box
Combiner Box
System Box
System Box
Batteries
Batteries

bldginsp
# Posted: 28 Sep 2015 22:51 - Edited by: bldginsp