Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Lithium Battery Questions
Borrego
# Posted: 23 Oct 2015 10:54

I have been delaying my system for a couple years now, mainly due to financial reasons, and maybe that's ok because I notice more new products and lower prices popping up. Lithium batteries may not be new, but they just recently popped onto my radar.
I assume these are the way to go now if one was building an off grid solar system...I've done some research but there is just too much info out there, so I'll ask the experts here..
1) Pros and cons?
2) Any particular brands/types?
3) Any good websites/forums on this?

Don - does your old speadsheet that figures the correct number of batteries work with these?

Thank you all.

creeky
# Posted: 23 Oct 2015 13:31

the pros are numerous. 3-5x the life. assuming you take care of them. 90% lower maintenance. I think you can search lifepo4 or lfp lithium and creeky here to find out what I learned.

there are three posts on my blog as well. both characteristics and benefits. including a post by a fellow in Australia who has had a lithium pack for some years. creektreat.ca

but the biggest thing for living off grid is that the batteries are happy being partially charged. if you don't charge lead acid they will sulphate and die. and in very short order. by not needing to get to full charge every single day lithium offers a far superior experience when it comes to the convenience of your power use.