Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Battery bank question...
shall
# Posted: 2 Aug 2016 14:05 - Edited by: shall

first, I'm a total solar novice and trying to learn about solar and I'm thinking about putting together a battery backup for my house in the event of outages.
I haven't yet settled on the size of the battery bank, however if one were putting together a battery bank in the 400ah range, it there any reason that you would not want to build it with 35ah batteries?
In other words, does using four 100ah batteries have any efficiency advantages over using...say...twelve 35ah batteries?

From checking SLA prices on Amazon, it seems like the 35ah have by far the cheapest $$ per watt hour.
I was specifically looking at the UPG UB12350 on Amazon
thanks

Steve_S
# Posted: 2 Aug 2016 14:42

A bit more clarity on your question would help.
1) how are you charging ? Planned or Existing.
2) feeding an Inverter for 120V or running just 12v
3) Auto ON if line power fails ? Or manually switch over ??
4) Do you want to set a Genny with Transfer Switch in place ?

On batteries... FLA still remains the cheapest for now but as technologies improve that is changing quickly.

Will your batteries be subject to extreme weather ? Heat / Cold - freezing ?
In house/Cabin or external to living spaces ?

Do you want to build a system that can be expanded later if needed either by solar panels, batteries or more ? Future considerations today can cost a bit more today BUT save you heaps later.

The more info you can provide will result in a better answer or suggestions as to how best to proceed. You know that old saying, "Help Us Help You".

shall
# Posted: 2 Aug 2016 15:15

hooboy, I hope I can answer these and not look too ignorant (which I am )