Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Need Propane Tank Level Indicator or Warning Light
paulz
# Posted: 4 Jan 2017 13:17

The small town where my cabin in located has a propane backup generator that powers the restaurant, small store and firehouse when the grid power goes out. Last night the power went out and the propane tanks were empty, oops. We currently have two 100lb. tanks connected such that when one goes empty it switches to the other. Problem is nobody really tracks how long the generator runs (it also runs for 15 minutes a week for testing) and the tanks are in an area nobody pays much attention to.

So the 'boss' has asked me to figure out how to make sure this doesn't happen again. I'm new to propane myself since I built my cabin, is there a warning light system, level gauge, scale or something to alert us when we need to fill a tank?

MtnDon
# Posted: 4 Jan 2017 14:22 - Edited by: MtnDon

The most dependable and least costly method might be to simply have someone designated to check the regulator indicator once a week or even monthly, depending on how long it takes on average to use 100#. That assumes there is an indicator; the two I have do use a green/red indicator that changes when the first tank hits empty. They could also log the date they checked so anyone else could affirm it was being done. As soon as the switch over indicator shows red you refill the empty tank. That is what we have done for years. We also have a third tank that gets switched into the coupled pair when one hits empty.

MtnDon
# Posted: 4 Jan 2017 14:25

There are pressure gauges that can give an idea of the level, but they are extra cost and still not useful if nobody checks. A scale could be used but that likely means finding one that can sit out in the weather.

groingo
# Posted: 4 Jan 2017 15:56