Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Looking for some help/ advice 9n cabin toklet
Bigred292
# Posted: 10 Feb 2017 17:51 - Edited by: Bigred292

Ok, here's the dilemma.
First year of owning the cabin- all in all great first year.
Made upgrades to elec system by adding solar panel, charge controller , fixed roof leaks to name a few.
I have a bathroom with stand up shower, sink and composting toilet. The previous owner really couldn't tell me much about toilet but I did find paperwork in cabin. It is a "Humus" brand toilet- can't find anything online as far as info.
I'm married with a 16 y/o boy and a 14 and 12 y/o girls. Needless to say my wife and daughters are creeped out by the toilet. Admittedly I'm not an expert with it. One visit the toilet gave off the most pungent ammonia smell.
I need to change the setup. Options

Outhouse
Incinerating toilet
Flush toilet.

Leaning towards flush toilet.I've searched but can't find any info as far as setup. My thinking is bury 2 tanks underground. 1 for potable water and 1 for septic holding
Can someone help me understand how to do it.? I figured running my 12v pump to fill toilet tank, then that would go into holding tank. Cabin is for weekend use mostly, maybe twice a month with 2 people and maybe 4 visits with the whole family over the summer
I don't think I'd need it pumped that often- it would just be toilet waste going into tank
Any ideas, pics, advice, diagrams,websites ?
Any help would be appreciated

DaveBell
# Posted: 10 Feb 2017 19:04

Contact your county health dept. to find out what your options are.

rockies
# Posted: 10 Feb 2017 19:41

What a tremendous amount of waste (no pun intended) is created from a flush toilet. All that water contaminated and then dumped into the ground. Not to mention all the systems you have to put into place to get the water in and then get the black water out and dispose of it.