Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Purified Drinking Water for your Cabin
. 1 . 2 . >>
CAprepper
# Posted: 12 Feb 2011 03:14

As a register nurse I am concerned with quality of water for food preparation, cleaning and drinking. One relatively inexpensive option is the use of the British Berkefeld Water Purification/Filtration system. It is often called a Berkey for short. Look it up on Amazon and around the net for specific details. In short, this is a gravity driven system. It sets on your counter. You fill the top where the filters are with any kind of water. I suggest you also keep a supply of Clorox Bleach. Treat your water with the bleach in the top. As the water filters through all bacterial, fungus and paracytic life forms are distroyed. The bleach in the top kills all viruses. And the filters even clean out bad tastes, including the clorine bleach you used in the top. Each filter processes about 3,000 gallons of water, most use two filters and the water is processed pretty quickly. The filter also removes heavy metals, and other enviormental polutants. These filters have been used all over the 3rd world by relief organizations. It is totally worth checking out. Plus it's easily portable so when you aren't at the cabin, bring it with you. Think of all the money, lugging and bottle waste you will save. Hope this helps some of you.

rayyy
# Posted: 12 Feb 2011 05:36

Thanks C,great info.I am planning on buying a Berkey for my cabin.

Invictus
# Posted: 12 Feb 2011 15:52

The Berky water filter is way over priced imo. You can buy or build a comparable water filter for much less money.

Also clorox bleach is not a wise choice for water purification methods. A little known problem with long term storage of bleach in your disaster emergency supply cache is that it degrades over time. Consulting a Chlorox bleach representative produced this statement: