Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Inverter/Charger Question - do I really need what is being suggested
. 1 . 2 . >>
zorro
# Posted: 17 Jun 2019 11:46 - Edited by: zorro

So this is the quote I received from a local Solar guy that a lot of people seem to deal with in the area and rate fairly high

This should be a “complete system”

I asked for a fairly robust/high powered system, so that is what he has tried to provide

However, the Charge Controller and his recommendation for a larger Inverter seem to be bit over the top to me (though I am no expert!)

I was looking at a couple of Charge controllers and Inverters and had thought of these 2, which are significantly less than the 2 he is suggesting, especially the $1239 charge controller – do I need that??

Giandel 2000W Pure Sine Wave Power Inverter DC 24V to AC120V = $318
https://amzn.to/2ZyR4F9

PEVER 60amp MPPT Charge Controller 48V/36V/24V/12V Negative Ground Max 150V 4500W Input fit AGM/Gel/Flooded/User Backlight LCD Display Large-Amp(60A-MPPT) - $279
https://amzn.to/2WOOBcD

4 Hansol 340W Solar Module 259 $ 1,036.00
1 Set MC4 Array cable 39 39.00
1 Watertight Connector 3.00
1 3-Position Array Combiner Box 115.00
1 15A Array Circuit Breaker 15 15.00
1 Charge Controller Kit Classic 200 Charge Controller 1,239.00
1 Samlex 600W 24VDC Sine Wave Inverter 299.00
1 40A Circuit Breaker for Inverter in Pre-Wired CC 25.00
8 Trojan T105 Batteries 169 1,352.00
6 2 Ga. 12” Battery Cables 9 54.00
2 2/0 Ga. 12” battery Cables 12 24.00
16 Battery Anticorrosion Rings .40 6.40

Subtotal: $ 4,207.40

Unirac roof mounting rails and flashing would add $300. The rails could also be used on a ground mount frame.
A disconnect for the inverter is included. I assume you will power all loads at 120VAC using the inverter.

For this size system you might also want a larger inverter. A 1000W would be $449 or a 1500W would be $569.

Steve_S