Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / How many batteries?
Lost arrow
# Posted: 9 Dec 2019 01:33 - Edited by: Lost arrow

Hello everybody
Im somewhat new to the cabin livin world and had a question.
I found a 500 watt invertor at a thrift store and i already own a battery charger. I think my electric needs are small and was wondering how many 12 volt batteries would I need to power a laptop a 20 inch tv a cell phone charger a blue tooth speaker and a lamp with a led bulb for roughly 48 hours a week?

I plan to charge the batteries at home and bring them up to my property for 3 to 4 days at a time. Does this sound like a good idea? Ive not alot of money right now to put into solar panels.

Im currently using an old onan generator that was taken out of a RV. I seem to be using around 12 gallons of gas a day and was hoping to switch to a battery box to save money.

Im a working single father and attend school full time, so im putting off the web calculators and what not until winter break starts. My brain is fried extra crispy most days.
Im thinking 4 12 volt batteries but this is merely a guess. Any help would be amazing.

Brettny
# Posted: 9 Dec 2019 06:55

Use a solar calculator or battery bank calculator

Fanman
# Posted: 9 Dec 2019 07:19

Just saying "12 volt battery" isn't enough; they come in many capacities even though they're all 12V. You need to add up all the loads and times to determine what capacity (in amp-hours) you need.

But, for example, a typical group 27 deep cycle battery is 85 amp-hour, which works out to 1020 watt-hours. That means it would run your 500W inverter at full capacity for two hours. But a bulb, a laptop, and a TV probably won't add up to 500W, so do the math. Don't discharge a battery more than 80% if you want it to last.

Nobadays
# Posted: 9 Dec 2019 07:36