Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Wood stove questions
Eddy G
# Posted: 9 Jan 2020 08:35

Hey all,
We have a DutchWest by Vermont Casting wood stove. I believe it’s a model 2460..non-catalytic converter

This will be it’s third winter.

It doesn’t get a lot of use.
Maybe a dozen or so times a year.

It heats the place up pretty quick and works well as far as I can tell.
I’m still learning how to use it.

As you can see in the picture it’s a fairly tight fit, the pipe runs out the back and directly up the chimney.

I’ve read about regulating the heat with the use of a damper in the pipe.
The damper in the stove (top) is open or closed
“non adjustable” or proportional.

There is no access to the vertical rise of the pipe for a damper and the horizontal run is pretty short.

Can a damper be installed exiting the stove on the horizontal run safely and effectively?

I feel in it’s current state that we waste a lot of wood and I’m looking for ways to keep as much heat in, save some wood and get longer burns.
Especially over night.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
F2CD290DD948443DB.png
F2CD290DD948443DB.png

ICC
# Posted: 9 Jan 2020 10:33

Page 17 of the owners manual indicates there is a primary air control lever on the left below the side load door. There is also an integral damper with the control top left of the same side. That is used only for fire startup or for when opening the door to load more fuel. Thirdly there is a secondary air control, also on the left side. Those three controls should be all that is needed. IMO, you do not need to make things more complicated by attempting to install a fourth control device such as a chimney damper. Read the manual, it looks like it has it all covered.

Eddy G
# Posted: 9 Jan 2020 11:52

I don’t have the secondary air inlet on my stove.
The secondary air inlet over the door only comes on the catalytic converter model.