Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Properties / Website to find friendly building areas
Project Mayhem78
# Posted: 18 Sep 2023 08:50

I am looking to build a small offgrid cabin (140sq ft) in Wisconsin. At the moment it is difficult searching every towns building codes to see if they allow building a shed without a existing home.

Is there a website where this information resides?

gcrank1
# Posted: 18 Sep 2023 10:01 - Edited by: gcrank1

Im a lifelong resident of WI, built our 1st off-grid cabin in '83-84, never have seen or heard of 'a list' like that.
Fwiw, in our current township they dont 'regulate' deer stands or ice shantys. Hunting and/or fishing shacks seem to get a pretty good pass....dont have plumbing! That opens you to 'complications'.
Imo you need to find ground you really like, no sense 'building' in an area you dont like, and find out what you have to do.

Project Mayhem78
# Posted: 18 Sep 2023 11:34 - Edited by: Project Mayhem78

it sounds like i am ok if the property has an old pre 1997 building, but if I want to build new I am SOL.

https://dsps.wi.gov/Documents/Programs/UDC/PrimitiveRuralHuntingCabin.pdf

I really dont want something big, I want something small and simple, Less bills, less maintenance. My family had a 1000sqft manufactured home with utilitys and it was constant maintenance, septic problems, well problems...ect ect.

ICC
# Posted: 18 Sep 2023 15:07

Quoting: gcrank1
Imo you need to find ground you really like, no sense 'building' in an area you dont like, and find out what you have to do.

Absolutely! Find a place you love and then see if you can adapt to the rules that may be in place.

spencerin
# Posted: 18 Sep 2023 23:44

Doubtful such a website exists as it's not a small amount of info to compile, which is also often changing, and there might even be a liability associated with posting incorrect info.