Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Properties / Timberland Owners Liability Insurance
toyota_mdt_tech
# Posted: 23 Jul 2016 23:15

OK, I have been looking into insurance to protect myself in the event someone gets hurt, found a liability release form (we know any lawyer can skirt these) be it a family member using the property, visiting with me or a trespasser. I looked into my homeowners insurance company and numbers were crazy. I wasn't looking to cover everything, just liability for injury. OK, now we all know family members wont sue you. Kicker is, they don't make the decision, its done by their insurance company, so they have no say in the matter.

Anyway, being a timber farmer, I found this website:
http://woodlandowners.org/

And in there, was a button in the middle near the top that read insurance. I clicked on it and found for 28 cents an acre, minimum of $160 a year (which will be my total cost), I can get full liability insurance. So I am jacked up and figured I would share this info with my fellow cabineers. There is regional chapters of the NWOA. So it wasn't required, I did however, sigh up for membership and printed out the application.
http://woodlandowners.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/2016-NWOA-Single-Page-Wood-Liabi lity.pdf

This is not spam. You all know me as a legit cabineer with a full cabin build under my belt on 40 acres.

Steve_S
# Posted: 24 Jul 2016 07:57

The Cabin is under your Belt ? Man you must have super strong boxers ! sorry, just couldn't help it... LOL Hafta wonder what Mrs Toyota_MDT would have to say on that.... hahaha...

Everytime I see the words "insurance" I get a shudder up my spine...

DaveBell
# Posted: 24 Jul 2016 08:12

Just FYI, You don't need liability insurance for trespassers.