Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Properties / Quebec property
Rickant
# Posted: 5 Feb 2017 08:28

Hoping there are some small cabin folks that have some experience on the Quebec side. I am looking at a property in the litchfield area. It has a cabin on it, mostly finished. It was built in 2000 and has hydro and septic although I am told it is a cedar box system. I am inquiring with the municipality to see if it was built with permits and inspected. It is 3 season. There are some obvious things that are not to code (well not in Ontario). There is a second floor patio door with an unfinished deck and no railing. There are some joust spans that look to be overspanned, but I am not an engineer. The structure seems to be on posts on either deck blocks or patio blocks or a combination thereof. My concern is that if this was built in 2000 I would be surprised if you could get a pass on an inspection. The flooring in the eating area has heaved a bit but I don't think that it is uncommon in seasonal buildings on this type of structure. One of my concerns is what if this was not permitted? Could it be ordered taken down? It has been sold to a second owner in 2011. It has a survey and all building are on it.

Thoughts?

Steve_S
# Posted: 5 Feb 2017 09:44

Grandfather rules would apply.
If it was permitted (if required) and passed at the time, no worries. If no permit was required when built, that's OK too but I would be critically attentive to the structure.

The unfinished deck without railings is a NO-NO for an occupancy certificate (if permit req) and immediately negates insurance as an unaddressed liability. If the deck was built Post Inspection & Cert and left incomplete, the building dept would not have much to say (rural small region) unless someone told them... Depends if a permit was obtained to build it.