Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Member's Projects and Photos / 20x24 on a bluff in far west TX high desert
bigfoot5678
# Posted: 13 Sep 2011 10:42

started in late 2006 using leftover materials from new const apt jobs, hauled down via trailer.
550 miles from my home in DFW area one way. 20 acre plot
No permit reqd, no well, no septic.
rain catchment, and humanure toilet system.
pier and beam foundation with 6x12 girder beams with steel posts
made it way too big as most folks around here have secondary roof over top for shade to help out during brutally hot summers...temps over 110 degrees most days from June-Sept.
elevation 3400'
recycled corregated tin panels, R13 walls with poly vapor barrier, and R19 clg
used all 3/8" OSB for interior skin painted with oil based Kilz and final coat latex.
solar and wind gen power planned.
100% off grid.

have pics but have to figure out how to post....newbie here

bigfoot5678
# Posted: 13 Sep 2011 10:51

here are a few pics..

FYI.
Thanks
front porch facing bluff ..to south
front porch facing bluff ..to south
framed and partial OSB skin up
framed and partial OSB skin up
view from main porch..Big Bend Nat Park on horizon
view from main porch..Big Bend Nat Park on horizon
early sunrise out back door
early sunrise out back door

bigfoot5678
# Posted: 13 Sep 2011 10:58

and a few more

thanks for viewing.

Bigfoot
front porch roof going up...no eaves due to super high wind storms
front porch roof going up...no eaves due to super high wind storms
in the beginning...6x12" x 14' girder bms
in the beginning...6x12" x 14' girder bms
cabinets in progress...kitch is way to big.!
cabinets in progress...kitch is way to big.!
another postcard sunset
another postcard sunset

Montanan
# Posted: 13 Sep 2011 12:01

Wow- what a gorgeous setting! I like how the corrugated tin looks. Welcome to the forum.

trollbridge
# Posted: 13 Sep 2011 16:54