Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Member's Projects and Photos / 12x16 sauna cabana in western nc -- absolute beginner!
shnnnh
# Posted: 31 May 2012 17:30

My folks are letting me use a patch of their acre in gorgeous Black Mountain, NC to build a little cabin.
My dad and I will be building this (he's 75, I'm 40 and female) with some hired help if/when need be.

The site has a frost depth of 12" and the soil is a Cecil clay loam. Winds are moderate, usually from the north. The building will face south. The lot is wooded. I haven't picked the exact spot on the lot yet but looking at the GIS site it looks likely that there'll be a slope somewhere between 1 and 5 feet.

This will not be for permanent year-round residence and we are not planning to run electricity or plumbing (unless a hose from the house counts as plumbing
The main functions of the structure will be:
wood-fired sauna room
wet room/changing area
lounge area
queen bed in a loft area built above the sauna room

I will most likely be getting the sauna room interior as a pre-cut kit and the sauna room will be a cube 80" on each side internal dimensions. The ceiling will be insulated with two layers of R11 and the walls will have one layer.

In terms of the roofline, I am really going for an uneven pitch/double lean-to design similar to Gary O's model. I want to have clerestory windows at the loft level.

I was wondering if a modified pole barn/post-frame structure might work, with 6 6x6 posts on the corners and nearly in the center of the 16' span--I say nearly because the sauna and changing room will have about a 7' width leaving 9' for the lounge area.

I would put down 6 x 6 PT skirts between the posts. There is a fairly local truss company that seems to have a good stock of surplus trusses that they say can make a good shed roof.