Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Member's Projects and Photos / My 10x10
. 1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . >>
1300_stainless
# Posted: 2 Sep 2014 19:38 - Edited by: 1300_stainless

So I'm finally getting around to posting pictures and details of my project. Warning, the following is a bit long winded.

Without going into too much detail my life can get, and usually is, pretty hectic. I struggle with anxiety on an almost daily basis. The plan for this "camp" revolves around my belief that sometimes for myself less really is more. I needed a place to go to escape everyday stress, relax, and collect my thoughts. Somewhere that things are simple, and close to the outdoors/nature. It was also something I wanted to do for self-growth and a learning experience. (I have very little carpentry knowledge and have avoided projects like this because they intimidated me). This May I took the plunge.

My budget for this project is very limited. It's been funded by an income tax rebate, selling a few things, and cutting my spending where I can. I'm trying my best to do a little with a lot whenever possible. For example instead of buying trim for the door lip I ripped left over lumber on a table saw. Not as pretty but that's $10-$20 for something else. I've been saving the spending of cash for things I feel are a more important investment. Like choosing the extra expense of assembling the camp with screws, for durability and to make future repairs and modifications easier.