Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off Topic / Fasteners - torx vs triple square vs…
KinAlberta
# Posted: 23 Jan 2023 16:32 - Edited by: KinAlberta

Here’s a few pretty good youtube videos on some differences:

COMPARING—triple square—poly drive—torx star— (volkswagen audi fasteners)
https://youtu.be/xNapbqmiYRA

••hex/allen••triple square••torx/star••poly drive
https://youtu.be/lNl8TVYbKKs

Mentions John Deer tractors:

Check out the AWESOME power of the MAC RBRT Triple Square Bit!
https://youtu.be/R94vW6robdI

Brettny
# Posted: 24 Jan 2023 06:01

As a mechanic I hate everything but hex bolts. Recessed fasteners heads just dont work great in the real world.

But for wood screws torx is the only way. Philip's is a thing of the past and cant withstand the power of modern drivers.

Irrigation Guy
# Posted: 24 Jan 2023 06:35

Quoting: Brettny

But for wood screws torx is the only way. Philip's is a thing of the past and cant withstand the power of modern drivers

I agree. I am glad the industry has sort of settled on the torx. There was a period where square drive was popular and I think they are almost as bad as philips and the heads just don’t look nice

Grizzlyman
# Posted: 25 Jan 2023 05:48

Nothing like a phillips#2 bit in your thumb. Lol. I won’t buy screws anymore that AREN’T torx!!!

KinAlberta
# Posted: 27 Jan 2023 21:29 - Edited by: KinAlberta

A bit of history in the article below.

Eg. Torx has been around since 1967. Wow!

What is The Best Screw Drive?

https://www.accu.co.uk/p/110-what-is-the-best-screw-drive

Torx screws vs Robertson screws -- First Impressions (WnW #53)
https://youtu.be/PMXOTRVYNiw

toyota_mdt_tech
# Posted: 29 Jan 2023 00:16

But wait, there is more.

Spider Drive.

I have some Headlock® fasteners, they are designed with a pan head for flushing and it uses a spider drive.

Spider Drive from Headlock®

Brettny
# Posted: 29 Jan 2023 19:41