Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off Topic / what kind of boat do I want
WY_mark
# Posted: 25 Aug 2013 18:57

Hey everyone!
a non-construction question for you. our place is near a great big lake and we keep wishing we had a boat. we don't have a trailer or storage for anything rigid, but I'm seeing a zillion inflatable options. We'd like to go paddle along the shore and generally goof around, nothing serious, no expeditions. The lake does have a pretty frequent breeze and often more wind than breeze so there's usually a wave pattern.
I have zero experience, do you think a canoe/kayak or more of a traditional river raft would be better for a total novice? I like the idea of getting moving in a kayak and getting some exercise out of the drill, but I also want something stable. it's just the two of us and maybe a 40lb dog passenger.
thanks for the thoughts!
Mark

Martian
# Posted: 25 Aug 2013 19:19 - Edited by: Martian

I have an 8'6" Puffin rowing dinghy that would be perfect for what you say you want to do. It is fiberglass, unsinkable, stable, rows like a champ, and weighs about 85 lbs. It was my car for several years and carried myself, my mate, and our 90 lb German Sheppard and several bags of groceries back and forth to shore. Sometimes, I'd row a mile to work in all kinds of weather. That boat works well if you have waves. Its very safe and stable.

Here's the link:
http://www.puffindinghy.com/

They aren't cheap.
http://store.hamiltonmarine.com/search.htm

WY_mark
# Posted: 25 Aug 2013 20:21

Cool, thanks. We are 2 miles from shore so I'm really eyeing inflatable options.

Martian
# Posted: 25 Aug 2013 20:46

If you plan on rowing it, forget it! I've owned Zodiacs, Avons, and Achilles. None of the row worth a darn. The wind will blow the boat pretty much wherever it wants. But, its your choice.

Tom

toyota_mdt_tech
# Posted: 25 Aug 2013 20:46 - Edited by: toyota_mdt_tech