Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Pulsating RV-Style Pump
<< . 1 . 2 .
spencerin
# Posted: 12 Jul 2021 08:27

With total distance, head, and friction loss in a narrower pipe, I'm afraid 5.5 gpm will turn into, at best, half of that at any single point of use. But, I'm not an expert, so I don't know.....

FishHog
# Posted: 12 Jul 2021 08:36

Even at half that it still seems like more than enough volume but I don’t know what your needs are and if you need more volume than normal

spencerin
# Posted: 12 Jul 2021 18:04

I do need more volume and pressure.

My next question - I'm going to bury it, so do any of you have ideas for in-ground, waterproof storage containers for this? The pump is 1' 8" L x 11" W x 1' 10" H. Not huge, but there has to be room for pipe gymnastics, electrical wiring, and foam board insulation. The contractor suggested a concrete vault, but he said that's also overkill for its size and usage. Or, what materials could it be built out of?

spencerin
# Posted: 26 Jul 2021 21:09

Fish, what make and gpm is your pump?

FishHog
# Posted: 27 Jul 2021 18:22

Quoting: spencerin
Fish, what make and gpm is your pump?

Sorry just saw this. Flojet 2.9gpm but sureflow pumps are well liked as well

spencerin
# Posted: 4 Aug 2021 19:34 - Edited by: spencerin

This is really frustrating me. It seems like the contractor undersized the system with 1/2" pex as the main and pairing it with a 3.0 GPM pump (Hydromax). But based on a lot of what I've read so far, this should still work. But it doesn't.

I want him to replace the main, and everything up until it becomes supply lines, with 3/4", and replace the pump with a variable-speed 5.3 GPM Remco Aquajet. Remco said this would work fine, but they're trying to sell a pump, too.