Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / Found another option - storage trailer conversion. questions before I buy
<< . 1 . 2 .
ShabinNo5
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 08:25

Optimistic,

Good luck with your endeavor. I have no experience with building on a flatbed trailer or converting a cargo trailer. So my advice will be more generic.

I have two observations:

1) You have limited construction experience.

2) Your personal tastes suggest high expectations.

My advise, expect your construction process to take longer than you expect, a lot longer. Since RV/Campers are not to your taste, I would expect that your requirements may involve more complicated building techniques. Be prepared to spend at least a year in the construction process. There is always the best of intentions then there is reality. Our project is in its third year. My original plan was to have the Shabin completed in two years (and I have construction experience). One of the biggest contributors to expanded timelines are the "Aha" moments that alter the plan. Your posting history contains a number of "Aha" moments; don't expect that tendency to go away.

Anonymous
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 09:02

The biggest AHA moment being the fact that commercial trailers in residential areas in Brooklyn are prohibited.

DaJTCHA
# Posted: 26 Oct 2012 18:06

Quoting: Anonymous
The biggest AHA moment being the fact that commercial trailers in residential areas in Brooklyn are prohibited.

I believe he stated, more than once on page one, that it would be parked in a storage lot, which would be permissible as it is a commercial property.

Anonymous
# Posted: 27 Oct 2012 07:57