Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Cabin Construction / The most for your money.
. 1 . 2 . >>
OwenChristensen
# Posted: 27 Aug 2013 08:42 - Edited by: OwenChristensen

I've built a lot of cabins and have this opinion for the most for your money and effort. As many here know, I like to build on treated skids. I think they are the most trouble free and float up and down with frost.
If the size isn't too big, it works well and I've been building like this for forty years and am still in contact with lots of my old customers, so I know. Now I also know that a 14' x 28' single floor cabin has almost no waste. I use 14' 2x4s for my 7' studs and all plates with just the 1/2'' trimming. This will give you 7'-4 1/2'' headroom. Use 2x8's for floor joists and 3/4'' t&g plywood and a plywood type siding. Build each wall complete on the floor then raise. First a long wall, the end, then another long and last an end wall missing the two outside sheets of siding, so you can raise it, then put those on after. Trusses a roof sheeting, shingles and you have a cheap cabin.

OwenChristensen
# Posted: 27 Aug 2013 08:49

If you're short on help, you can raise a 28' wall in two pieces.
floor
floor

VC_fan
# Posted: 27 Aug 2013 08:50

Bless you. Very practical suggestions.

TheCabinCalls
# Posted: 27 Aug 2013 10:45

Interesting...
- do you build or buy treated skids. do you have a pic of this foundation detail?
- are skids tied together or float independently?
- do you make or order trusses?
- the corner detail with the concrete block - what is below it and how far down does it go?

Redneck7
# Posted: 27 Aug 2013 14:19