Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / New to Wood Stove Heating. Could someone review installation photos?
. 1 . 2 . >>
Old_Skewler
# Posted: 14 Oct 2021 18:03

This is my first fire wood stove and I have zero experience with wood stoves for heating.

Could someone with more experience tell me if they see anything wrong with the installation or what I should be careful with or watching for?
Kodiak_01.jpg
Kodiak_01.jpg
Kodiak_02.jpg
Kodiak_02.jpg
Kodiak_03.jpg
Kodiak_03.jpg
Kodiak_07.jpg
Kodiak_07.jpg

Old_Skewler
# Posted: 14 Oct 2021 18:04

Some more photos of the installation:
Kodiak_04.jpg
Kodiak_04.jpg
Kodiak_05.jpg
Kodiak_05.jpg
Kodiak_06.jpg
Kodiak_06.jpg
Kodiak_08.jpg
Kodiak_08.jpg

Nobadays
# Posted: 14 Oct 2021 18:50

It looks like a decent old school wood stove. My concern would be any creosote buildup in the chimney. Looking at the joints it has been taken apart in a long time... I don't even see a slip-joint, and with the damper in there you couldn't clean from the bottom so has it been cleaned from the top? At least downnto the damper.

Tim_Ohio
# Posted: 14 Oct 2021 18:55

It looks good to me. You seem to have plenty of clearance from combustible surfaces. Keep in mind, you will have to clean your chimney pipe once a year to prevent an excessive build up of creosote. If it builds up, it will cause a chimney fire and that can be a big problem! They do have a kind of flare that you can throw in if you hear a fire is burning in it. Keep those on hand for an emergency. The other thing that is important is that your chimney outside the roof is two feet higher then the ridge, if it is located within 10 ft. Otherwise, you will have problems with the draw in certain weather conditions.

Other members, did I miss anything?

Good luck.

Tim, Ohio

scott100
# Posted: 15 Oct 2021 13:51