Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Heating with propane in cold
. 1 . 2 . >>
Upperparadise
# Posted: 10 Feb 2023 09:34

Im new to cabins I built a 10x10 off grid log cabin in Vt. Current having issues heating when I get there if temp is below freezing:

I have a small wood stove that takes a while to warm up. I have 2x buddy heaters that i want to use to warm up faster.

Issue is the propane freezes (i think) i hauled up 2x 25lb grill tanks but those seem to freeze too! I hauled up a brand new one used an adaptor to connect to buddy heater and it was shutting down after 10-20 minutes. It was 10-17f out but thats what im trying to figure out.

Anyway to heat with propane and not have it freeze? Could it be my adaptor or buddy heater? Even if I hike up 1lb camping propane it seems to freeze up after a while (30 min hike then cold cabin). Any ideas suggestions? Am I the only one that seems to have issues with propane freezing and being unreliable? Thanks!

Id put a picture if I could thanks!

Upperparadise
# Posted: 10 Feb 2023 09:37

Pictures
Front
Front
Inside
Inside

Brettny
# Posted: 10 Feb 2023 09:43

Theres a propane vaporization chart available, let me see if I can find it. With 2 big buddy heaters you may be pulling to many BTU off a single tank.

Tanks will frost up when cold but as long as the propane flow isnt slower it's really not a problem.

You can see by the chart that at 10*f and the tank a 20% it will only output about 10kbtu. I believe that's about what my hunting buddy (single pannel) does.
Propanevaporizationa.jpg
Propanevaporizationa.jpg

Nate R
# Posted: 10 Feb 2023 09:47

Yep, more tank surface area will help as far as frosting.
Much of the propane in the tank is liquid, and moves to vapor in the tank. That takes heat BTUs, which is pulls from the surroundings, which drops the temperature around the tank.

Nobadays
# Posted: 10 Feb 2023 09:56