Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / How to size a new generator
. 1 . 2 . >>
zorro
# Posted: 29 Nov 2023 15:50 - Edited by: zorro

I am not good at this, so hopefully someone can help

I need to replace my generator as it is giving me too many problems now – have replaced the carb, plugs, battery, used “cleaner” etc

It no longer starts on gasoline and was running with Propane – however, even that is now a problem and time for a change I think

Needs to be duel fuel with a 120/240V L14-30R “plug” for connection back to the cabin and remote start

So I need to get a replacement generator……………….but what size??

The generator runs the following items in the cabin;

Water Well Pump – From the manual - 0.5HP/230V/

At full load - 4amps/845Watts
Service Factor – 4.7amps/1050Watts

It also runs hair dryer for when my wife uses it for say 20minutes – say 2000W

And a Vacuum when used – 15 minutes – say 2000W

The 3 are NEVER all used at the same time

So what size of a generator would adequately run the above demands in terms of the starting/running Watts?

My current generator may be too big??? and it would be good to downsize/get a quieter option if possible

Current - 7500 running (Gas)/6750 running (Propane)

All of my lights, cell charging, small fridge, TV, etc are run off the solar panels and batteries

Thanks

EDIT

was looking at something like this...........

5250 running - gas
4750 running - propane
Remote start
120/240V 30a socket

Never heard of the make though - but can easily add a 4 year warranty for $120

https://www.amazon.com/PPOXURIO-Portable-Inverter-Generator-Electric/dp/B0BY8HRSPG/re f=sr_1_3?crid=1CRGEH2ZLXTJL&keywords=poxurio+6000+watt+generator&qid=1701292927&spref ix=poxurio+6000%2Caps%2C216&sr=8-3

Brettny
# Posted: 29 Nov 2023 19:29