Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Off-Grid Living / Heating question..... Don't think I should use wood. What do you think?
<< . 1 . 2 .
creeky
# Posted: 18 Oct 2014 19:48

I use propane and wood. Wood stoves do take up some space but the advantage is the wood is free at my place.

I shrunk my stove by lining the interior with firebrick. Still. it can blow you out of there. even at -30. Guess I'm still learning how to use it properly.

Julie2Oregon
# Posted: 18 Oct 2014 20:22

This is the one I'm getting. It's small and EPA-certified:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pleasant-Hearth-1-200-sq-ft-EPA-Certified-Wood-Burning-Sto ve-with-Blower-Small-HWS-224172MH/203883464

bldginsp
# Posted: 18 Oct 2014 20:30

A little googling shows that these are made in Indiana for Lowe's, and people seem to like them. $650 seems like a very low price for a well-made piece of American cast iron.

Let us know how it works out for you Julie

Julie2Oregon
# Posted: 18 Oct 2014 20:44

Will do, bldginsp! Do you think it would be a good idea to get the optional fresh air kit? One review said it worked well for them.

bldginsp
# Posted: 19 Oct 2014 07:59

By 'fresh air kit' if you mean a kit that brings in air from the outside for combustion air, I'd say that you can accomplish the same thing by simply installing an opening to the outside near the stove. The stove needs air to burn obviously, but if the rest of your cabin is so tightly sealed that air can't get in it's possible that the stove won't get enough air. Also, if you have another appliance in the cabin that needs air like a water heater or clothes dryer, the woodstove can inhibit the proper operation of those by creating a negative air pressure in the cabin. Also, the woodstove can pull cold air down a water heater vent flu and freeze the element.